Katelin Haynes

Favourite Thing: I love the feeling when you discover something new, something no-one else has ever seen or known about before.



1998-1999 Gatton State School, 2000-2007 West Moreton Anglican College


2008-2010 University of Queensland, Bachelor of Science, 2011 University of Queensland, Honours, 2012-Current University of Queensland Diamantina Insitute, PhD Student

Work History:

2007-2011 – Queensland Brain Institute


University of Queensland Diamantina Institute

Current Job:

PhD Student

Me and my work

I’m trying to learn more about ankylosing spondylitis, a disease where all the bones in your spine fuse together.

Ankylosing spondylitis (AS) is a very painful disease, and there are no good treatments to stop or slow the bone formation which occurs. I’m trying to increase our understanding of how this disease works, and come up with targets for new treatments. I do this through the study of the intermediate message between DNA and proteins, known as RNA. If you haven’t learnt about DNA or RNA in school yet, ask me some questions about it and I’ll be happy to tell you more.

My Typical Day

Some time in the lab, some time in the office, a yummy lunch and lots of tea breaks!

I don’t spend all my time in the lab doing experiments. myimage3
While these are an important part of my job, an equally important part is analysing all the data that I generate. So I spend part of each day working on the computer to make sense of my experiments. myimage2
I also think tea is essential for conducting good science; you have to fuel the brain! myimage1

What I'd do with the money

Travelling scientist

I love speaking to students about what I do, and science in general. I would love to do a roadtrip through schools in remote Queensland, engaging students in science. I could perform experiments, give lectures and interactive presentations. I did this for a week in North Queensland last year, and I’d love to be able to do it again.

My Interview

How would you describe yourself in 3 words?

Easygoing, enthusiastic, dedicated

Who is your favourite singer or band?

The National

What is the most fun thing you've done?

Rollerblading. I love it. It feels almost like flying, and I don’t fall over very often.

If you had 3 wishes for yourself what would they be? - be honest!

1. Finish my PhD in another two years. 2. Grow my hair just a little more 3. Get a Corgi dog. They are so cute!

What did you want to be after you left school?

A scientist – of some kind, I just wasn’t sure what!

Were you ever in trouble in at school?

Only occassionally…

What's the best thing you've done as a scientist?

I published a research paper!

Tell us a joke.

Genetics explains why you look like your father, and if you don’t, why you probably should!

Sports followed

My boyfriend loves the cricket, but I don’t really follow anything.

Favourite team